Posted on May 17, 2010 by spreston

The CCA/ACC Award of Excellence recognizes a significant contribution to camping in a province. In 2009, CCA/ACC accepted four submissions from the British Columbia Camping Association for this award.

BCCA recommended recognizing three community associations for their generous contributions over many years to funding children who would otherwise have been denied the camping experience: The Lower Mainland Camping Bureau (since 1947), the Surrey Association of Community Living (since 1991) and the Burnaby Camping Bureau (since the mid 1980’s).

David Woolven, former Camp Director of Camp Thunderbird, YMCA, and General Manager of Summer Camps for the Vancouver YMCA, is also recognized as an outstanding BC volunteer. For six years, David has done an exceptional job in filling an essential role on the Executive of the BCCA as the Accreditation Chair.

CCA/ACC is pleased to recognize Brenda McFarlane, an outstanding New Brunswick volunteer since 1975. Brenda’s contributions to the New Brunswick Camping Association are varied as a workshop leader, Secretary-Treasurer for nine years, developer of the accreditation process, an accreditation visitor for all NB camps for three years, the registrar for the annual Counsellor Workshop and overseer of the annual auction. Brenda is a very efficient, well organized volunteer who has made the NBCA very proud!

The Jack Pearse Award of Honour recognizes outstanding service to camping across Canada. In 2009, CCA/ACC is proud to recognize the Friends of We Care of Aurora, Ontario. For more than 25 years, Friends of We Care has been dedicated to sending children with physical disabilities to Easter Seals summer camp programs in all provinces of Canada. Having contributed close to $13,000,000 to help over 25,000 children experience the joy of camping has made We Care the largest corporate contributor to Easter Seals.

CCA/ACC’s most prestigious honour is the Ron Johnstone Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding commitment over a prolonged period to a provincial and /or the national camping association. This year we are proud to recognize, Kirk Wipper, recipient of the Order of Canada and Order of Ontario. Kirk’s lifelong passion for camping, canoeing and canoes led to the creation of the Canadian Canoe Museum in Peterborough, Ontario. It is the world’s largest collection of canoes, kayaks and related craft and includes canoes formerly owned by Pierre Elliot Trudeau and Bill Mason. This award will be presented to Kirk in November 2010.

CCA/ACC welcomes submissions in writing for 2010 awards in all three categories. Deadline for submissions is October 31. Criteria for the awards and the submission form are available in the Members’ Section of the CCA/ACC Website. (Username: member Password: ccamping)